2019 Society Events

 

YUKI TEIKEI HAIKU SOCIETY (YTHS)

CALENDAR FOR 2019 – Meetings and Events

Please Note: January 15, 2019, Membership Due Date
Bring peanut-free food to all potluck sharing, please!

Subject to changes; check this page regularly for the latest information.
For addresses of events at private homes, call Patricia Machmiller: 408-225-4946
.

Date/Time

Event

Saturday, Jan 12       10 AM – 4 PM Haiku Workshop by Patricia Machmiller at Markham House, History Park, 1650 Senter Road, San Jose, CA. This workshop will give participants the opportunity to develop their internal critic. Bring haiku struggling to lift off and a bag lunch.  Directions to the History Park.
Tuesday, Jan 15 YTHS membership Dues for 2019 due. 
Membership form and more details can be found here.
Friday, Feb 1 Submissions deadline (YTHS members only) for first 2019 GEPPO.
Saturday, Feb 9     1 PM – 4:30 PM Haiku Workshop by Phillip Kennedy at the home of Dyana Basist, Santa Cruz, CA. This workshop will look at the history of season words and seasonal topics in Japanese poetry. Phillip will also share some season word descriptions from an Edo Period saijiki. Please carpool.
Saturday Mar 9  1 PM – 4:30 PM Haibun Workshop by Carolyn Fitz, Cliffwood Estates Mobile Home Park Clubhouse, 3200 Cliffwood Drive, Soquel, CA. Bring a short personal story (1-2 paragraphs) to read aloud and to inspire a haiku. RSVP to Carolyn at: inkstonefitz@comcast.net.
Saturday Apr 13       11 AM – 3 PM Garden Tour, Picnic, and Ginko at the Tilden Botanic Garden, Berkeley, CA, led by David Sherertz, Garden Docent and YTHS member. Gather at the Visitor Center. (to the left of the Main Gate, at the intersection of Wildcat Canyon and South Park Drive.) Easiest parking is in the parking lot across from the Garden on Wildcat Canyon Drive. Directions to the GardenDavid Sherertz will be our docent for a garden ginko with writing and sharing time.  Lawn picnic potluck lunch first, bring blanket or low chair. Flyer for this event.
Wednesday, May 1 Submissions deadline (YTHS members only) for second 2019 GEPPO.
Saturday May 11     10 AM – 4 PM Tea House Reading, Okayama Room (tentative), History Park, 1650 Senter Road, San Jose, CA.
 Saturday Jun 8 –   Sunday Jun 9 Day or overnight trip to the historic first Japanese colony in the USA. The Wakamatsu Festival 150-Year Celebration, Coloma, CA. Details to follow.
Saturday Jun 15    10 AM – 2 PM Sharing of the Wakamatsu Festival at Alison Woolpert’s home, Santa Cruz, CA. Potluck lunch and Haiku writing.  For further directions, please consult GEPPO.
Saturday Jul 13        6 PM – 9 PM Yanabata Celebration and Potluck at Anne Homan’s home, Livermore, CA.
Thursday, Aug 1     Submissions deadline (YTHS members only) for third 2019 GEPPO.
August No Meeting.

Saturday, Sep 8    10:30 AM – 2:30 PM

Annual Board Planning Meeting and Potluck at Mimi Ahern’s home, San Jose, CA.
Saturday, Sep 14      5 PM – 9 PM  Moon Viewing and Potluck at Linda Papanicolaou’s home, Stanford, CA. RSVP to paplinda@yahoo.com.
Saturday, Oct 12     12 Noon – 4 PM  Picnic Lunch at Hakoni Gardens, Saratoga, CA, Picnic, Ginko, Haiku writing, and sharing. Bring your own lunch. Directions to the Garden.
Friday, Nov 1 Submissions deadline (YTHS members only) for fourth 2019 GEPPO.
Friday Nov 8 through Monday Nov 11 YTHS Haiku Retreat at Asilomar Conference Center, Pacific Grove, CA.. Newcomers welcome. Set in a beautiful natural landscape with opportunities to learn from other experienced poets and artists.
Friday lunch through Monday lunch.
More details will be forthcoming.
Saturday Dec 14      5 PM – 9 PM YTHS Holiday Party at Patricia and Al Machmiller’s home, San Jose, CA. Pot-luck dinner and card exchange.